Secret Agent Cake

spy cakeSecret Agent Cake! Chocolate cake with Bavarian cream filling, buttercream icing, and grape flavoured fondant.

I made this cake last summer for my friend’s son’s birthday. I sat down with her son and we came up with the idea together, the only stipulation was that the cake had to be black! Check out her blog at Food and Whine to see all the party details!

This was the first time I made my own fondant and coloured it myself. Overall it was quite easy to do. Before I started to add my powdered sugar to my melted marshmallows I added a package of grape jello crystals and lots of black colouring. I find adding the jello crystals gives the fondant a base colour and then I don’t have to add quite so much colouring to get the desired colour. You also don’t get the bitter taste of too much colouring.

 

A spy cake wouldn’t be complete with a cherry bomb about to explode!!

cherry bomb

i made the cherry bomb, the handle to the briefcase, and the magnifying glass with rice crispy treats and then covered them in fondant.

DSC_0290Then as an added bonus surprise I made chocolate moustache pops!

