Marshmallow Fondant

Home made marshmallow and white chocolate fondant.

As you may have noticed I use a lot of fondant for my various creations. I like the look it gives to the finished product but don’t always like the taste of store bought stuff. It seems that I am not the only one as I find that most guests pick off the fondant and leave it on the plate while devouring the inside.

I found this recipe in a cupcake magazine and have adapted it to my liking. An added bonus it is significantly cheaper than having to buy fondant all the time and now I don’t worry about expiration dates as I can make it as I need it. I know it may seem daunting but it is really easy and takes no time at all. I also like the fact that it has a more elastic consistency and doesn’t tend to tear or rip as easily, making its application on cakes an easier process.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups tiny marshmallows
  • 1 tbsp white baking chocolate with cocoa butter, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter, cut up
  • 1 1/2 tsp whipping cream (or milk)
  • 1 tsp clear vanilla*
  • Approximately 3 cups powdered sugar
  • paste food colouring (optional)

* Make sure you use clear vanilla if you are wanting a white fondant otherwise you will end up with an off white end product.

In a microwave safe bowl, combine marshmallows, white chocolate, butter and milk. Microwave on high for 1 minute or until marshmallows begin to melt and are puffy. Stir the marshmallow mixture until smooth. (I usually have to return the dish to the microwave for an additional 30 seconds to get it to completely melt.)

Stir in the vanilla into the marshmallow mixture.  Add 1 1/2 cups of the powdered sugar and stir until combined.

Liberally sprinkle your work surface with powdered sugar and scrape your marshmallow mixture out of your dish and onto the work surface. Sprinkle the mixture with more powdered sugar and begin kneading. Keep adding powdered sugar as needed until the fondant is no longer sticky to touch. It is at this point that you can use gel or paste food colouring to tint the fondant to whatever colour you desire.

You’ll notice that I use a small sifter for the powdered sugar. I find that it helps get a smoother end product otherwise it can get lumpy.

Give it a try and let me know what you think! Enjoy!

